Tibetan Music Awards 2019

The award statuette - Lhamo Yangchen ma (Saraswati)

The Winners

The winners of the Tibetan Music Awards 2019 were announced on 8 September 2019. It was the ninth edition in the series since the awards were started in 2003. The winners were chosen through online voting.

The event celebrates music in a Tibetan context, and recognises and honours Tibetan musicians, singers, and others from the recording industry for their musical and artistic achievements and contributions, and to encourage excellence in the industry.

The event is organised every two years by Lobsang Wangyal Productions. The awards have been decided by the public through online voting based on albums produced within the last two years.

There are 18 different categories for awards. The winners for this year are:

  • Best Album སྐད་འཁོར་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Khamsang by KN Khentse
  • Best Album Cover སྐད་འཁོར་གྱི་ཁ་ཤོག་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • No winner for this year.
  • Best Lyrics གཞས་ཚིག་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Nga Ni Khe Ki Tse Che Yin by Nepa Roltsok
  • Best Song སྙན་འཇེབས་ལྡན་པའི་ གཞས་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Pema Tenzin for ཀླད་ཀོར། Zero
  • Best Fusion གནའ་དེང་འདྲེས་མ་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • No winner for this year.
  • Best Opera Singer རྣམ་ཐར་གཏོང་མཁན་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tenzin Namgyal, Nepal Lhamo Troupe
  • Best Traditional Artiste སྲོལ་རྒྱུན་གཞས་གཏོང་མཁན་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tsering Gyurmey / Thoghang Bodkyi Gorshay
  • Best Love Song མཛའ་གཞས་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tsewa Mashi Mey by Ten Kun
  • Best Devotional Album དད་གླུ་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tsering Gyrumey for My Guru Drubwang Pema Norbu
  • Best Rap/Hip Hop རེཔའམ་ཧིབ་ཧོབ་གཞས་གཏོང་མཁན་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Fearless by Tenzin Seldon (TiBcHiCk)
  • Best Debut Album སྐད་འཁོར་འདོན་ཐེངས་དང་པོ་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • KN Khentse for Khamsang
  • Best Act གཞས་དང་རོལ་དབྱངས་ཐོག་ཐུན་མིན་བྱས་རྗེས་ཡོད་པ།
    • No winner for this year.
  • Best Music Video རོལ་དབྱངས་བརྙན་འཕྲིན་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tsewa Mashi Mey by Ten Kun
  • Best Female Singer གཞས་མ་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tenzin Kunsel, New York, US
  • Best Male Singer གཞས་པ་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • Tashi Phuntsok (Sing China winner) / from Shigatse, Tibet
  • Best International Artiste For Tibet ཕྱི་རྒྱལ་བ་བོད་དོན་ཆེད་གཞས་གཏོང་མཁན་རྩེ་ཕུད།
    • No winner for this year.
  • Special Recognition དམིགས་གསལ་གཟེངས་སྟོད་འོས་པ།
    • Michelle Weik (Connecticut, US)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award ཚེ་གང་གཞས་དང་རོལ་དབྱངས་ཐོག་བྱས་རྗེས་ཡོད་པ།
    • Lobsang Samten (Tiny), Tipa for more than 40 years

Google ad